Have some questions? Want answers? Got some good tips? This is the place to ask, or answer, questions regarding art tools, and methods.

Moderators: Ambiguity, SeaQuenchal, virtueone

Postby everfae » Tue Aug 08, 2017 1:52 am

everfae

Subject title: Being in art communities

I've been putting my art online for a few years now, although I have slowed down in the past 2 years or so.

Even when I was more active, i never really felt a part of any art community, from DeviantArt to the now closed down MangaBullet (who remembers that) and tumblr, I always felt like I was outside looking in. I don't post in any of these places anymore. It just feels like I was posting my work but I didn't have a circle of friends to grow artistically with- whether that made me feel less confident as a consequence, or the other way round, not being confident enough to enter an art community, i don't know. I think the underlying feeling was that I was never good enough or knew how to approach people whose art I liked and I wanted to befriend. Signing up on Sycra forums has given me some more hope, and I like that here there are all skill levels trying to improve. It's a nice refreshing change from the more intimidating art circles where everyone and their mom already seems so unattainably highly skilled. This is the place for artists who are willing to bear all their artistic struggle and frustrations!

Hey so who felt like that or how did you overcome it and have you had a good circle of online art friends? Curious to know as I feel like I missed out on that.
you can call me flower if you want to
instagram
my sketchbook

Postby DarkLored123 » Wed Aug 09, 2017 11:59 am

DarkLored123