Have some questions? Want answers? Got some good tips? This is the place to ask, or answer, questions regarding art tools, and methods.

Moderators: Ambiguity, SeaQuenchal, virtueone

Postby godsi » Wed Jul 18, 2018 8:06 pm

godsi

Subject title: Portfolio analysis + a few questions.

Hello everyone, for a few months now, I've struggled to find a path I want to take as an artist. I am a freelance artist that draws for a hobby, but I also want to take my work more seriously. I'm going to link my portfolio below (it only contains a few pieces) and I have some questions I would like to ask to anyone that wants to offer an answer.
https://www.artstation.com/trajon
So far, does my portfolio look like it has a particular theme?
If I want my portfolio to look professional, what steps should I take?
Is there any tips a young, inexperienced artist should remember when trying to look professional?
Do I give off the impression of an amateur artist?

thank you.

Postby Ambiguity » Wed Jul 18, 2018 8:27 pm

Ambiguity

godsi wrote:So far, does my portfolio look like it has a particular theme?

That you like to paint girls and the color pink?

godsi wrote:If I want my portfolio to look professional, what steps should I take?

Don't make it an "art" portfolio, make it for the job you actually want. Do you want to be an animator? How about an environment concept artist? An editorial illustrator maybe? Pick something, one thing for each portfolio, and focus on getting good at that thing. Also if there is a specific company you like, then make a portfolio tailored specifically to them, show them that you can meet the same level of skill as the artists they already have and that you have some value to add to their team.

godsi wrote:Is there any tips a young, inexperienced artist should remember when trying to look professional?