Have some questions? Want answers? Got some good tips? This is the place to ask, or answer, questions regarding art tools, and methods.

Moderators: Ambiguity, SeaQuenchal, virtueone

Postby Kwaku » Mon Feb 05, 2018 8:49 pm

Kwaku

Subject title: First laptop for digital painting

I'm fairly new to digital painting and this is basically my first laptop. I wanted to know basic things like how big a canvas should i start with and how big can/should I go. I wanted to start by working on simpler things on smaller canvases.Then when I really know what I'm doing, I'll use bigger canvases for when I want to make more detailed work. So, where do I start and what are some other things that I need to be aware of(dos and don'ts)? Also, I don't think my computer is that strong,I'll post my system info below.
info.png

Postby Snakebreath » Mon Feb 05, 2018 11:02 pm

Snakebreath

Honestly, that processor may give you trouble with larger canvases which will be a problem. I'd reccomend going atleast 2k x 2k, as any smaller and the tools become rough/pixelated. I typically start a canvas at 4k x 4k then adjust the shape to my liking. I even do my sketches on this size canvas, the larger the canvas the more pixel space and the smoother your tools work. Think about your canvas as a grid with a bunch of tiny squares, the more squares the smoother a line will appear, and vice versa.

Postby Ambiguity » Tue Feb 06, 2018 1:59 am

Ambiguity