Have some questions? Want answers? Got some good tips? This is the place to ask, or answer, questions regarding art tools, and methods.

Moderators: Ambiguity, SeaQuenchal, virtueone

Postby wheattoast86 » Mon Jan 01, 2018 9:39 pm

wheattoast86

Subject title: I feel like I am not doing enough

I have drawn frequently before, but I haven't started to devote myself to improving my art until a couple days ago. I deconstructed my main goal in art, some what organized what to do, and developed a schedule.
I have 90 minute sessions with 15-20 minute breaks every day; 2 sessions every weekday and 1 every weekend. I keep a Google Slides presentation on what to do. For the past couple of days, my main goal to accomplish was to under my goal in art and how to improve. The only drawing I have accomplished are a couple of life drawings and an iterative practice on drawing lines, cylinders, cubes, and ellipses. As I was reading articles on how to improve as an artist, I came across a couple of schedules. In some of the schedules, they decided to devote 5 hours a day to many art subjects. I feel like what I am doing is not enough, focusing on one subject for roughly about a week and try to improve it, then moving on. What should I do to improve?

Postby DarkLored123 » Wed Jan 03, 2018 8:29 pm

DarkLored123

Do not feel obligated to spend 5+ hours a day drawing if you do not think you'll be able to handle it, numbers don't always amount a greater outcome. I can tell you from personal experience that a well thought out hour or two of drawing is as good as drawing for 5 hours straight if you efficiently planned on what you need to work on. Also these articles usually run on assumptions that are completely not supported with any evidence, it is like saying that if you want to get good at math you have to do it for 5 hours a day which is rubbish.