Have some questions? Want answers? Got some good tips? This is the place to ask, or answer, questions regarding art tools, and methods.

Moderators: Ambiguity, SeaQuenchal, virtueone

Postby tomboyhippyprincess » Fri Dec 22, 2017 7:47 am

tomboyhippyprincess

Subject title: perspective help for webcomic newbie

Hi! I'm a self-taught artist who dreams of making freelance comics for a living. I'm working on my first comic ever, and considering my drawing speed and the fact that I'm a highschool student attending college classes, I'm very far off from posting regularly if at all. Despite my practice, I'm having a hard time making my perspective shots look natural.

I need someone to take a look at an example of my progress thus far with perspective and tell me what's wrong with it or give me some tips. I'm keeping my work rough for now so I don't gripe about having to scrap a page, so don't be shy to tell me to start over! This is a rough, bare-bones first draft of my main character's room. (ignore the little panel of his face at the bottom right.)

2.png

My method so far is to draw a floor plan of the room or area i'm drawing, and lay it out on the page as if it was lying on the "floor" of the room (I'm a digital artist, so I can do that), and then work upwards by making the flat shapes on the ground into 3D shapes. Here's this room's floor plan.

3.png

As you can see, the TV and it's table appears to touch the bed, instead of lying a good distance away. And, the bed also looks like it's tilting into the wall. I've taken art classes before that taught me to draw proper still-life drawings and I know how to preform one and two-point perspective drawings, but I'm having trouble applying that knowledge to my comic. Help would be appreciated! I'd really like to be able to post my story ideas without having to give up and turn it into a novel!

Postby DarkLored123 » Fri Dec 22, 2017 3:09 pm

DarkLored123