Submit your artwork for critiques here, or give someone else some helpful criticism or advice on their artwork. Please keep things civil.

Moderators: Ambiguity, SeaQuenchal, Waveloop, imcostalong, virtueone

Postby Kavilen » Thu Aug 31, 2017 7:52 am

Kavilen

Subject title: Chibi me

So i was draing a chibi version of me and have never done chibi before. I'm, of course, not done with the body, but I was wondering if it looked good. I especially wanted to know if the hair is fine or how to define it better (huge noob with hair). Im trying to go for a simplistic pic so that it can be a good profile pic. Thanks in advance! :D
rsz_chibi2.jpg

Postby DarkLored123 » Thu Aug 31, 2017 5:12 pm

DarkLored123

I redlined your chibi drawing and while I am not experienced particularly with chibi characters I know what sets them apart from regular human figures and that is proportions and exaggeration.

First of all I recommend you study up perspective and form since the way you drew this indicates that you are not so familiar with those things, for example your clothing doesn't indicate any sort of volume including the rest of the figure which appears flat. Now also look at how I drew the clothes, particularly where I did the flowy lines I've added some dynamism(gesture) to capture flow in the clothing which is really beneficial and boosts up the drawing as a whole, it is simply pleasing to the eyes.

Your face is pretty flat, I can draw straight lines through it and I'd get the same result as you, define the form of the face and expresses the cheek bones on the character. I also changed the eyes and some other details like the hair because they lack volume or structure. Also you might want to work on your lines since they are bit wobbly, use your wrist and other parts of the arm to draw the lines, not your fingers.