Submit your artwork for critiques here, or give someone else some helpful criticism or advice on their artwork. Please keep things civil.

Moderators: Ambiguity, SeaQuenchal, Waveloop, imcostalong, virtueone

Postby ShyVibrance » Wed Jul 26, 2017 5:35 am

ShyVibrance

Subject title: How should I go forward with improving my art?

It's been awhile since I've posted here, but I find myself kinda stuck on what to work on for my art. I think my weakest suits right now are anatomy and perspective, but if you have any others I'd like to hear them. I'd also like to know how to practice some of these things, if you have resources to link I'd really, really appreciate that.
I'm graduating high school this year and am thinking about pursuing art college, so if you have any tips on what skills I should prioritize for that then that would help a lot.

Here's my last finished artwork I did, from a few days ago:
http://i1317.photobucket.com/albums/t62 ... v3pt6l.png
16 year old self taught artist, trying to get better at art.

Postby Alpacky » Wed Jul 26, 2017 9:03 pm

Alpacky

Cool!
Sombra and widow, good taste :3

Most prevelent issues in this order: Gesture, Form, proportions, perspective (which is sort of part of form)... etc.

The arms and such look really flat, which can be attributed to the lineart, and the shading, which is a drawing problem (the form)
The proportions are pretty off
also work on gesture. everything feels really stiff and sort of awkward.
You can find tutorials for this stuff from sycra and many others. Figure drawing would help, and possibly doing some form practice by at first, drawing simple three dimensional shapes in perspective, and then making them more and more complex, cutting shapes out, adding shaped on ect. and then shading them.

(side note the background looks sorta like modern art, which isnt that bad, but i would work on matching the colors of the background to the foreground for appeal and such

Like it though, keep it up.