Submit your artwork for critiques here, or give someone else some helpful criticism or advice on their artwork. Please keep things civil.

Moderators: Ambiguity, SeaQuenchal, Waveloop, imcostalong, virtueone

Postby ManyTcnj » Mon May 08, 2017 11:56 pm

ManyTcnj

Subject title: Music Video

Hey all,

I am working on a music video, and would really appreciate some feedback. The following image will be animated, and then I will probably rearrange the two band members in a closeup to use for promotional purposes. So far, I've gotten the feeback that it looks too cut and pasted, so I'm trying to unify the characters and the spaceship. Any other likes, dislikes, critiques, advice? Thank you in advance to anyone who responds!
red-giant-resized.png

Postby kettukakku » Tue May 09, 2017 9:59 am

kettukakku

Hey~ I'm unfortunately not able to be of too much help since I'm still learning, but some thoughts I had:

I think one thing that's attributing to the 'cut and paste' look that you're referring to is the color palette. The palette of the man is very red (leaning towards purple), the woman is majorly red/orange toned, and the background is primarily blue/green. It does help to let the characters stand out and be a focal point, but to push them back into their surroundings more, it might help to incorporate more blue/green colors (perhaps shadows or highlights?) into them.