Submit your artwork for critiques here, or give someone else some helpful criticism or advice on their artwork. Please keep things civil.

Moderators: Ambiguity, SeaQuenchal, Waveloop, imcostalong, virtueone

Postby adamjames » Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:05 am

adamjames

Subject title: Concept drawing and the creation of character.

Hey guys.
For the most part I'm a author/writer, but over the past year I've been trying to improve my drawing skills to help illustrate the characters that I come up with in my stories.

Below is my most recent piece, her name is Vikky Miller.

I'm just looking for some feedback on what you guys think makes good concept art, a good character, and any tips you may have to help me improve my skills.

If you would like to read more about the different directions I've tried with her, there is more over at my blog.
http://cgfoxtrot.blogspot.com/2012/01/vikky-miller-re-conceptualized-recap-of.html

Thanks, I look forward to hearing your feedback.

Postby Stoyben » Fri Jan 06, 2012 1:12 pm

Stoyben

our left (her right) collarbone is a little "wonky" it has an unusual upward bend. I know that you're trying to make her more visually appealing but I think the eye shadow takes away from the picture (this is only my opinion); I would love to see a panel from this.
You can't spell earth without art.

Postby adamjames » Fri Jan 06, 2012 4:08 pm

adamjames

Thanks Stoyben, I was trying to add the weight of the rifle/severed head into her right shoulder, but as you pointed out, I think I missed it. I'm still struggling with balancing out figures. I agree on the eye shadow thing. There is a trick I do inside of Photoshop; once I have my drawing finished, I'll take the vibrance and ramp it up by about 25% just to give it a little more zing. In this case, I think it pulled out the blue undertones around her eyes a little too much, or did you mean the actual darkness/value?

Not to sound like a complete newb, but what do you mean by 'panel'?