Submit your artwork for critiques here, or give someone else some helpful criticism or advice on their artwork. Please keep things civil.

Moderators: Ambiguity, SeaQuenchal, Waveloop, imcostalong, virtueone

Postby Inishi » Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:33 am

Inishi

Subject title: Overall / Perspective problems

Hey there,

I recently purchased a Wacom Intuos 5 Tablet and thus started drawing digitally. I'm still working on my first drawing, which I should put aside to get my head clear - but I just can't. Somehow I've been drawing my whole life but never managed to really break out of my current (note: whole life) skill level. Digital drawing pretty much made me step to another level, since I found it much easier to take note of mistakes and fix them. Still, I'm a very beginner and couldn't draw you anything related to realistic stuff. I also never really drew anything aside boring character poses or portraits. Pretty much stuck to a manga style, which I intend to "drop" and get to learn more serious stuff. So, Sycra is a big help and so is this forum.

Anyway, this time I clearly knew which direction I wanted to go. I wanted something "dynamic" and play with perspective, which I've never done till then. Aside from all the trouble I have with brushes, I managed to get a somewhat-clean lineart in the end. I tried coloring it, but failed miserably, first because of my lack of knowledge when it comes to light and shadow and second because my goal was to reach something miyazaki-watercolor-like-thing.
But as I'm posting the lineart and some progress pics only, it might be hard to give me tipps in that direction.

Latest result: