Submit your artwork for critiques here, or give someone else some helpful criticism or advice on their artwork. Please keep things civil.

Moderators: Ambiguity, SeaQuenchal, Waveloop, imcostalong, virtueone

Postby barbuse » Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:31 pm

barbuse

Subject title: Help for digital painting

Hi!
I'm a beginner in digital painting and I bought a wacom bamboo fun a couple of weeks ago and I started playing a bit with it.
Now I'm doing an illustration based on a picture found on the web and I need some help!
The teeth look a bit flat but I don't really know how to correct this ?!
And please feel free to critique this and give me advice if you have any :)

Here's the grey scale picture:
Orc1.png

And that's a test with colours:
Orc2.png

Barbuse

Postby Total100 » Fri Jan 11, 2013 12:46 am

Total100
Location: in my room. 1 laptop for video another laptop for forum. and a 1 sketchbook for drawing...

there is WAY to much midtone. your need highlights and shadows badly imo.
look at the original. how much light and dark does it have? it might just be the original drawing your painting. could you link me the picture?
edit: like here. Image
there are some shadows that are almost pure black and highlights and a visible light soerce
"Art is my cooking channel, i watch it, drool over it, and hope to one day make it."
I'm Alex, I'm 12,
Here is my sketchbook= viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2900 :)

Postby Sin » Fri Jan 11, 2013 1:30 am

Sin

Take this reference make it black&white and go with it... don't mess with color until you have values correct, because it will confuse you very much.