Submit your artwork for critiques here, or give someone else some helpful criticism or advice on their artwork. Please keep things civil.

Moderators: Ambiguity, SeaQuenchal, Waveloop, imcostalong, virtueone

Postby mkw1991 » Sun Oct 21, 2012 5:27 pm

mkw1991

Subject title: Need a little landscape critique.

Hi guys :]
Firstly, sorry for my bad english.
Recently, I started practicing some landscapes, so I wanted to hear some of your opinions. For this three I've used 3 custom brushes, one for clouds, trees and texture brush for some grass/rock surfaces :P
So tell me, what do you think about it and what should I change to improve :P
Like Sycra said in his topic, You can use this for a video critique :P

Last edited by mkw1991 on Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Nipponkage » Sun Oct 21, 2012 6:19 pm

Nipponkage

I don't know if it's part of the style, but the ground looks really dark. Therefore I think you need to work with your values more (as do I).

Postby Fenix_N » Sun Oct 21, 2012 6:51 pm

Fenix_N

Yeah.. the cliffs on the last one seems too dark. The dark cliffs on the first kinda makes sense because the light looks like it is coming from the other direction. And I dunno, but all 3 of them seem very foggy with no interesting sky. I guess that's great for showing more depth, but I wonder if it would look as good with color with the depressing foggy day in all 3 of them. But nice work overall man. The style is loose but seems consistent throughout.

Postby virtueone » Sun Oct 21, 2012 7:09 pm

virtueone

Nice work overall! I think there are some areas which lack detail, or look a little messy, but they are all nice concepts! The atmosphere is great and I like the waterfall and fog effects. ;)

These are just my opinions on the first image... (sorry to write on top of your artwork, just easier to explain this way) ;)

Cheers! ;)

Postby Ambiguity » Sun Oct 21, 2012 7:16 pm

Ambiguity