Submit your artwork for critiques here, or give someone else some helpful criticism or advice on their artwork. Please keep things civil.

Moderators: Ambiguity, SeaQuenchal, Waveloop, imcostalong, virtueone

Postby ehlihr » Fri Dec 08, 2017 6:03 pm

ehlihr

Subject title: roast me pt. 2 [ehlihr]

uuhhhhhhhh??? here's a Nother One please lemme know if it's like. good?
Screen Shot 2017-12-08 at 12.02.04 PM.png
18 year old mostly self taught loser. sheridan illustration 2023

Sketchbook
Website
Instagram

Postby Audiazif » Sat Dec 09, 2017 9:15 pm

Audiazif

The color is a little weird. It is kind of doing the opposite of what happens in reality. Your lights are saturated and your darks have little to no saturation (basically grey). In life, lights tend to be less saturation than the shadows. Also shadows are not "grey" or black, they have color in them. I am also confused on the lighting. It is not clear how things are being lit. Is this back lit? or is it two light sources from the sides? If it is back lit, the light is going too far around into the form and the bg is too dark. If it is two light sources it may read better if one of the light sources is a dominant and then the other is a secondary, one is more intense than the other. Also the sharp edges of the shadows read like a cast shadow, almost like the figure is front lit and something is casting a shadow on the figure. I would try to think of the shadows as cast shadows(sharp edges) or model shadows(soft edges) and learn where each type would show up.
"Painting is edge hell!"

Deviantart
Sketchbook

Postby Josephcow » Sat Dec 09, 2017 9:45 pm

Josephcow

Audiazif wrote:The color is a little weird. It is kind of doing the opposite of what happens in reality. Your lights are saturated and your darks have little to no saturation (basically grey). In life, lights tend to be less saturation than the shadows.

I agree with your critique except this simply isn't true.